Situated in the heart of Africa, Burundi is a small landlocked country in the great lakes region of Eastern Africa. It covers 27,830 square kilometers and borders Rwanda to the north, Tanzania to the east and south, and the Democratic Republic of Congo to the west.

Burundi has three ethnic groups: Hutu (Bantu), Tutsi (Hamitic) and Twa (Pigmy). Since 1972, Burundi has experienced ethnic rivalries between Hutus and Tutsis that developed into a civil war by 1993. It was only in 2008 that the last rebel group, marking the end of more than a decade of war, signed a ceasefire. Resulting in a high death count, forced refugees to Tanzania and many others displaced internally. The effects of the civil war have contributed to the reduction of the subsistence economy, making it dependent on foreign aid.


Local news

Show all local news